Blithely Out of It

I was standing around at a Halloween party these few nites ago, holding a plastic wine tumbler with an orange stem, the cup decorated with “painted-on” orange jack o’ lanterns.

A few new moms I’ve met remarked on the glass, though I don’t remember the exact words. “Something like, ‘that looks great.’ or  ‘Cool.’

I guess they thought I had hand-painted the piece or otherwise did something more crafty. I held it up to let them have a closer look and announced: “Got it at the Dollar Tree!!”

They seemed less-than-impressed, having no response. Maybe they were just dumbstruck by my true $crafty$ brilliance–or overall insouciance.

Leave a Reply

