Wake Up Call

I love shopping early in the morning. Stores are nearly empty, clerks fresh off of “employee team meetings” and hopeful for a day that might prove better than the one before.

At one of my favorite haunts, The Dollar Tree, an always-chipper manager was trying to instill the same enthusiasm in the cash/debit register, which was nonresponsive after I swiped my card:

“Come on . . . you’ve had your two cups of coffee and your two packets of sugar. I know that for a fact,” he said, gently tapping the machine. “Wake up.”

Leave a Reply

