Half Veggie

I finally found cage-free pork at Whole Foods the other day. If chickens can now pursue a free-range lifestyle, why not their more intelligent farmyard friend, the pig?

Then, my daughter said: “Mom, I don’t eat pork. I’m half-vegetarian.”

What is half vegetarian? “I eat chicken,” she said.

Trouble is, at age 8, she is actually averse to eating most veggies, including peas, asparagus, lettuce, artichokes, chickpeas, etc.

So I gently told her, “You have to actually eat vegetables, honey, to be a vegetarian.”

If she had her preference, she would eat mostly burnt toast (albeit with olive oil). And so far, I don’t think there is a foodie category known as bread-etarian.

Leave a Reply

