Go Ask Alice

In the first couple of years after my second child was born, I seemed to go down the Rabbit hole. I spent most of my time in the house, juggling multiple conflicting nap schedules and meal times (including my own). It was an insular, mad, and erratic world punctuated by diaper changes, drives to and from preschool, the store, or the park.
I had little time, in fact, for any shopping or journeying beyond the five-mile radius around our home.
So, I remember the first time I went clothes shopping, I was in shock.
What were all these women doing flipping through hangars and chatting away on cell phones. Sure, I had a cell phone, but I barely had a free hand or brainwave. Women can’t just enjoy shopping? For their own clothes? By themselves?
Why ‘be’ anywhere else?
Now, I’ve grown used to seeing distracted shoppers, and I actually prefer those who text because at least I can linger over my own potential purchases in peace. And, I’ve started noticing the outer fringes of a backlash.
On a few boutique doors in Belvedere Square and at Greenspring Station, signs hang on the glass front door: “Please, Just Hang up and Shop.”

Leave a Reply

