Love, Mommy

I bought a Scholastic Children’s Dictionary at a used-book store the other day. My daughter was turning eight, and I wanted her to have the joy of seeking and discovering new words. What I didn’t see, inside the front cover, was that it was already inscribed:

“Bethany, Everything you learn will help you achieve all life has to offer,” Love, Mommy.

The date was 2002, just eight years ago. My stomach grew tight. Eight years from now, will my child sell this book to another used bookstore? So quickly outgrown and discarded.

Or will I?

One thought on “Love, Mommy

  1. Laura says:

    This made my stomach turn too…I write something in the front of all the books I give to Charlie. I know he won’t save them all…But still…

Leave a Reply

